We Need More Stories About COVID

Before we forget.

Ryan Redmond
3 min readNov 12, 2023
Photo by Gabriella Clare Marino on Unsplash

I don’t write enough in my journal.

However, I have two random journal entries from 2020.

Friday, September 11, 2020

A wildfire burns nearby, smoke fills the air, and clogs the sky. Another day spent alone, in my 240 sq. ft. cone. Isolation wouldn’t be so bad, if I had a partner in my pad. Loneliness is a symptom of 2020. Luckily, wine is the cure of 2020.

Friday, October 9, 2020

Reread the above. Not a fan. Couldn’t get through an episode of “Ozark.” It depressed me. Luckily, it’s bread week on British Bake Off.

Yes, that first entry with the terrible rhyming was a sad attempt at poetry, and I’m glad I recognized that poor writing weeks later.

These entries are strange to me for a few reasons.

Firstly, I’m terrible at keeping a journal. I always end up buying moleskin notebooks that go untouched.

--

--