The Joy of a Couple Extra Pounds

Embrace the holiday weight.

Ryan Redmond
2 min readNov 23, 2023
Photo by Pablo Merchán Montes on Unsplash

“You only live once.”

This is what I tell myself every time I open a bottle of wine and dive into a big bowl of pasta.

Or an insane amount of sushi.

Or bread!

Bread!

I could write an epic poem about my love for bread that would rival the great works of T.S. Eliot.

But for now, I want to talk about this time of the year in which we all prepare ourselves to tack on some extra weight.

It’s hard not to.

Between Thanksgiving meals with family and friends to the holiday parties serving enticing sweets, one can’t avoid seeing a couple of extra pounds on the scale.

But isn’t that what this season is about?

Shouldn’t we be thankful for what we have and celebrate?

In a world that is so dark and dreary, why should we worry about a couple of extra pounds?

What does that extra weight even mean in the grand scheme of things?

I’ve written before about embracing the pandemic pounds we might have added on.

And I’ve written about the amazing food my family makes at Thanksgiving.

--

--