I Said “I Love You” on a First Date

A nightmare.

Ryan Redmond
3 min readApr 8, 2024
Photo by Tiny Tribes on Unsplash

The attraction was magnetic.

The chemistry was intense.

The aura around both of us made us gravitate toward one another.

“There’s something about you,” I told her.

“There’s something about you too,” she replied with a grin of caution.

She squinted her eyes as she looked deep into my soul trying to figure out why we were brought together.

We were strangers, but we both felt as if we had met before.

We felt we knew each other, as if we had always known each other.

We were two halves of a piece finally put together.

We were always destined to meet.

“We are MFEO,” I told her.

“Made For Each Other,” she smiled, knowing the reference to the all time great romantic comedy, Sleepless in Seattle.

That first conversation together felt so comfortable.

It was as if we had been talking for years.

“Who are you really?” I asked with a smile that stretched across my face. I couldn’t help to show my excitement.

Who was this person that suddenly dropped into my life?

--

--