Being Humble

The impact of having humility.

Ryan Redmond
5 min readNov 28, 2023
Photo by NordWood Themes on Unsplash

It was many years ago.

I was a much younger man.

I was fresh out of college and still getting my career off the ground.

I had wound up in Louisiana where there was a booming film industry because of a lucrative tax credit that tempted many studios to move productions to the state.

I was working as an office assistant on a big budget movie, and I was just excited to have a job in movies, even if it paid so little. It was enough to survive.

The career was being a freelancer, and I was still adjusting to the fact that my job wouldn’t be like a lot of other people I knew. And over time, the only people I would know would be other freelancers always fighting for the next gig, the next paycheck.

In an industry in which there are a lot of egos, one certainly can imagine what it must be like to be around famous actors and snobby producers.

Beyond the names on the movie poster, there are a great many people in the film and television world who have large egos simply because they are in the “industry.”

We don’t save lives or make the world a better place. One could argue we make it a worse place.

--

--